Birth of you&milk

You & milk is first of all a beautiful love story, with a capital L.

The Love that I feel towards the one who, before becoming the wonderful dad of our little honey bun, is the man who supports me, boosts me when I need it, the one who shared, the difficult beginnings with breastfeeding with me - before it became one of the most beautiful parentheses of my life as a woman - and the one who believed along with me in the you & milk project.

 

And then there is this craaaaazy Love that I feel for Thelma, hanging on my breast, on my tank top, her gaze filled with love and mischief when she is in the “canteen”, her “Areuuuhh” by way of “ Thank you mom, I ate well, you can repack ”, these little moments just for her, us, the two of us, the three of us.

 

Breastfeeding, I first apprehended it, I cried a little, I hung on, I liked, no I loved, and I did not want to do without it.

Already more than a year of milky adventure!

 

For our first vacation of 3 in the summer of 2018, Thelma was barely a month old, we went to the South of France, Provence, its softness, its warmth, ...

 

In summer, I love (like many women & young mothers) wearing pretty tops, sometimes loose, sometimes more fitted.

 

As a small epicurean family that we are, we enjoyed walking, going to the beach, enjoying the sunny terraces of a beautiful summer ...

 

Breastfeeding where the wind takes us, yes, breastfeeding by revealing my freshly delivered 9 month old belly, it was more delicate, in public anyway (because in private, we fully enjoy the breastfeeding experience!) .

 

I didn't want to choose between wearing the essential tops that I love and breastfeeding our little baby.

And after all, why choose, you can be stylish, relaxed, and breastfeed, right?

 

Knowing my taste for Fashion, my husband as well as my mom tried to offer me pretty breastfeeding tops, realizing that they were not so easy to find, without it just doing too much breastfeeding. The idea was to find this top that is both timeless, a bit of the essential piece that you want to have in your closet, easy to wear to breastfeed, in all circumstances, without seeking sophistication.

 

One night, when we were all sharing a precious moment with Thelma at my breast, I was thinking about the existential question (23rd degree eh!) Of the top, ideally in organic cotton for more softness and in accordance with my values, for young mothers like me who are breastfeeding: the famous dilemma “I breastfeed but I also want to stay“ stylish and cool ”.”

 

We can never say it enough, a successful breastfeeding is certainly being serene, trusting yourself and your baby, eating well, drinking lots of water, resting (ouch!), Being well surrounded and reassured on a daily basis, in her close and emotional circle.

But successful breastfeeding also means feeling good about yourself and in your clothes.

 

Having talked a long time with my friends and young mothers, I realized that many already felt “bad”  about not going through with their breastfeeding project as they had promised themselves, but added to this, was the weight of their reflection in the mirror: wearing clothes that are certainly comfortable, but often unflattering for the silhouette, a silhouette that we are already trying to reclaim after birthing.

 

Breastfeeding and dressing easily while loving yourself in your clothes, I believe that it is entirely possible, and above all, highly recommended to fully live this magical interlude of your life. It should even be reimbursed by the Social Security (Let’s get down to it !!)

 

Be proud to give your sweetest and best to your little baby, do it for a few minutes, a few hours, a few weeks, a few months or more.

 

Live your breastfeeding simply, freely and above all, without judgment (even for those who make the choice not to, or who do not have the choice to breastfeed)!

 

Having been supported by our daughter's dad, by my loved ones, having been accompanied and relieved when necessary, this allowed me to savor these moments of milk love as never before imagined.

 

And if, through our tops, you feel like a woman, a mom and good about yourself, then we will have succeeded in the most beautiful of bets!

©2020 by You&milk. Created with lot of love | Mentions légales | CGVMédias

©2020 by you&milk. Created with lot of love | Mentions légales | CGV

Naissance de you&milk

you&milk, c’est tout d’abord une belle histoire d’amour, avec un grand A.

L’Amour que je porte à celui qui, avant de devenir le merveilleux papa de notre petite cracotte au miel, est l’homme qui me soutient, me booste quand j’en ai besoin, celui qui a partagé à mes côtés les débuts difficiles de l’allaitement - avant que cela ne devienne l’une des plus jolies parenthèses de ma vie de femme - et celui qui a cru à mes côtés au projet you&milk.

Et puis, il y a cet Amour foufoufou que je porte à Thelma, accrochée à mon sein, à mon débardeur, son regard rempli d’amour et de malice quand elle est à la “cantine”, ses “Areuuuhh” en guise de “Merci maman, j’ai bien mangé, tu peux remballer”, ces petits moments rien qu’à elle, à nous, à nous deux, à nous 3.

L’allaitement, je l’ai d’abord appréhendé, j’ai un peu pleuré, je me suis accrochée, j’ai aimé, non j’ai adoré, et je n’ai plus eu envie de m’en passer.

Déjà plus d‘un an d’aventure lactée ! 

Pour nos premières vacances à 3 l’été 2018, Thelma avait un mois à peine, nous voilà partis dans le Sud de la France, la Provence, sa douceur, sa chaleur,...

L’été, j’adore (comme beaucoup de femmes & jeunes mamans) porter de jolis tops, tantôt “loose”, tantôt plus ajustés.

En petite famille épicurienne que nous sommes, nous avons pris plaisir à nous balader, aller à la plage, profiter des terrasses ensoleillées d’un bel été....

Allaiter là où le vent nous porte, oui, allaiter en dévoilant mon bidou fraîchement remis de 9 mois de bébé dedans, c’était plus délicat, en public en tout cas (parce que dans l’intimité, on vit pleinement son allaitement !).

Je n’avais pas envie de choisir entre porter les tops essentiels que j’affectionne et allaiter notre petit bébé.

Et après tout, pourquoi choisir, on peut être stylée, décontractée, et allaiter, non ? 

Connaissant mon goût pour la Mode, mon mari tout comme ma maman ont cherché à m’offrir de jolis tops d’allaitement, tout en réalisant qu’ils n’étaient pas si faciles à trouver, sans que ça fasse justement trop allaitement. L’idée était de trouver ce top à la fois intemporel, un peu la pièce essentielle qu’on souhaite avoir dans son dressing, facile à porter pour allaiter, en toutes circonstances, sans tendre vers le sophistiqué.

Une nuit, alors qu’on partageait un moment lacté tous les trois, je réfléchissais à la question existentielle (23ème degré hein !) du top, idéalement en coton bio pour plus de douceur et en accord avec mes valeurs, pour les jeunes mamans comme moi qui allaitent : le fameux dilemme “j’allaite mais je souhaite aussi rester “stylée et à la cool”.”

On ne se le dira jamais assez, un allaitement épanoui, c’est certes être sereine, se faire confiance et faire confiance à son bébé, bien s’alimenter, boire beaucoup d’eau, se reposer (aïe !), être bien entourée et rassurée au quotidien, dans son cercle proche et affectif.

Mais un allaitement épanoui, c’est aussi se sentir bien dans sa peau et dans ses fringues.

Pour avoir longuement échangé avec mes amies et jeunes mamans, je réalise que beaucoup se sentaient déjà “mal” de ne pas aller au bout de leur projet d’allaitement comme elles se l’étaient promis, mais venait s’ajouter à cela le poids de leur reflet dans le miroir : porter des vêtements certes confortables, mais souvent peu flatteurs pour la silhouette, silhouette qu’on cherche déjà à se réapproprier après béb

Allaiter et s’habiller facilement tout en s’aimant dans ses vêtements, je crois que c’est tout à fait possible, et surtout, fortement recommandé pour vivre pleinement cette parenthèse magique de sa vie. Ca devrait même être remboursé par la Sécu (on va plancher sur le sujet tiens !)

Soyez fier(e)s de donner ce que vous avez de plus doux et de meilleur à votre petit bébé, de le faire quelques minutes, quelques heures, quelques semaines, quelques mois, voire plus. 

Vivez votre allaitement simplement, librement et surtout, sans jugement (même pour celles qui font le choix ou qui ne l’ont pas, d’allaiter) ! 

Avoir été soutenue par le papa de notre fille, par mes proches, avoir été accompagnée et soulagée quand il le fallait, cela m’a permis de savourer ces instants d’amour lacté comme jamais je n’aurais pu l’imaginer.

Et si, au travers de nos tops, vous vous sentez femme, maman et bien dans votre peau, alors nous aurons réussi le plus beau des paris !